News: Arcade Fire announce their new album will be released in October.

(Photo via

At 4.58pm BST, Arcade Fire announced that their follow-up to 2010’s The Suburbs in a Twitter response to a fan. The tweet also included a picture, which could be related to the upcoming album’s artwork, which you can see below. This comes after months of intense speculation as to when the band’s fourth album would be released, with many believing it would surface in September of this year.



News: The leading single from Tired Pony’s forthcoming album ‘Ghost Of The Mountain’ is to be premiered on Shaun Keaveny’s BBC 6music at 7pm BST.

(Photo via

Today (5th July), Tired Pony announced that the leading single of their forthcoming album, which is entitled Ghost of the Mountain will be premiered on Shaun Keaveny’s show on BBC 6music on Monday morning (the 8th July) at 7am BST. Tired Pony consists of Gary Lightbody (of Snow Patrol), Richard Colburn (of Belle & Sebastian), Iain Archer , Jacknife LeePeter Buck (of R.E.M.) , Scott McCaughey and Troy Stewart.

Ghost of the Mountain is expected to be released sometime this summer via Fiction Records, and it follows the band’s 2010 debut album, which was entitled The Place We Ran From.

Watch Tired Pony perform ‘Get on the Road’ from The Place We Ran From with Lisa Hannigan below.

News: Babyshambles announce sophomore LP ‘Sequel to the Prequel’.

(Photo via

Babyshambles are set to release their long-awaited follow-up to the band’s 2007 debut album Shotter’s Nation. Named Prequel to the Sequel, the album will be released on the 2nd September and will be preceded by a single named ‘Nothing Comes to Nothing’. The album has been produced by Stephen Street, who produced Shotter’s Nation, as well as Doherty’s 2009 solo album Grace/Wastelands, Blur‘s Parklife, and The Smiths‘ Strangeways, Here we Come.

Here’s the album’s tracklisting:

1. Fireman
2. Nothing Comes To Nothing
3. New Pair
4. Farmer’s Daughter
5. Fall From Grace
6. Maybeline
7. Sequel To The Prequel
8. Dr. No
9. Penguins
10. Picture Me In A Hospital
11. Seven Shades Of Nothing
12. Minefield

Listen to ‘Delivery’ below.

News: Pearl Jam are to release a new single entitled ‘Mind Your Manners’ in July.

(Photo via Consequence of Sound)

According to Revolt TV, classic Seattle grunge-rock band Pearl Jam are to release a new song entitled ‘Mind Your Manners’. The single woud be their first release since 2011’s ‘Olé’. The single was listed on the radio industry website as being released on the 16th July, although it has since been removed, and the date is as-yet unconfirmed.

A presenter from Australian radio station Triple M claims to have heard the single, and had the following to say about it:

“You’ll wet your pants over this. Think ‘Spin the Black Circle’. Short, sharp, hard and loud. If it’s any indication of the album that’s to come (rumoured October release), the guys have picked up where they left Backspacer and added turbo charging. PJ fans are gonna love it.”

This comes amid rumours of a new Pearl Jam album, supposedly named ‘Tides’ and with an October release date.

You can stream the band’s full performance at Lollapalooza Brazil this year below.

News: Daft Punk’s ‘Get Lucky’ becomes the first million-selling single of 2013 in the UK.

(Photo via

Last night (Thursday, 27th June), according to figures released by the UK’s Official Charts Company, Daft Punk‘s monumental comeback single ‘Get Lucky‘, which features N.E.R.D. member Pharrell Williams and Chic guitarist and disco alumni Nile Rogers became the first single in the country to break the barrier of one-million purchases, sixty-nine days after it was released. Rogers said of the achievement:

“When I think how it happened, too, with people who I like a lot, that we just decided to go into the studio and do something… And then it turns out like this? It’s absolutely remarkable, because no-one was prepared for this!”

The track, which was released as the first single from the French house duo’s first album since 2005’s generally underwhelming Human After AllRandom Access Memories (although in 2010 they did release a soundtrack album for Disney’s ‘Tron: Legacy‘ film) seems to have been instantly adopted by both the mainstream music platforms, and the more specialised electronic music platforms as an instant classic.

In addition, on 26th June, Daft Punk also posted their own ten minute remix of ‘Get Lucky’ on their promotional website for Random Access MemoriesYou can listen to the track below.